Concert 6, The Hero’s Journey (Scheduled for May 9 & 10), has been CANCELLED and moved to next season. The decision to cancel was a difficult one, but we’re following the guidelines established by the California Department of Public Health who are recommending the cancellation of mass gatherings statewide. The health and safety of our wonderful patrons is of paramount interest to our organization.

Please consider donating your Concert 6 ticket to the Chamber Players. (To do so, simply do nothing.) If you are interested in a refund for your ticket, please let us know by phone (831-425-3149) or email Thank you for your patronage, and patience in this difficult time! We are looking forward to seeing you at our next concert.

The Hero’s Journey:

Incantation, Trial, and Homecoming

Music by Beethoven, Prokofiev, Stravinsky, Ian Gottlieb, Lili Boulanger, Ben Dorfan

Saturday, May 9, 7:30 pm
Sunday, May 10, 3:00 pm

NEW VENUE: St. John’s Episcopal Church, 125 Canterbury Drive, Aptos

Ben Dorfan, Concert Director and piano; Jeff Gallagher, clarinet and narration; Lydia Joy Davis, violin; Mike Dahlberg, cello

In this concert we explore the theme of rising above challenging circumstances. From Beethoven’s prolific but troubled early life we have the brilliant Op. 11 Clarinet Trio. Out of Soviet Russia comes Prokofiev’s iconic Cello Sonata, which was only approved for public performance thanks to the happiest of flukes. Stravinsky’s L’Histoire Du Soldat was born out of particularly turbulent times. The Spanish Flu Pandemic made theater performances all but impossible, and in an attempt to salvage the situation Stravinsky made his own arrangement for Trio, which is the version we will perform. The program is rounded out with shorter works by Ian Gottlieb, Lili Boulanger and a world premiere by pianist and concert director Ben Dorfan.

View Full Program     View Program Notes

Photo by Steve DiBartolomeo

Leave a Reply